Philosophy & Poetry Symptoms

February 9, 2009 at 2:30 pm (General)

I was in a discussion with Megan Volpert, and we got into philosophers and how philosophy seemed to be in decline. This struck me as similar to the decline of poetry, and lead me to comment, “I think philosophy is like
poetry, they don’t die, they just drown, and sometime later remember that they never needed to breathe.” Perhaps it’s accurate, maybe not. Either way, I like the statement because it’s the sort of thing that raises interesting discussion over the core/essential qualities of poetry/philosophy, and the distinction drawn between the two in those respects. Sometimes they share common goals–one of those moments where I wish I was a teacher so I could raise this for discussion in a class and see what comes of it.

Permalink Leave a Comment